Simon's Rock CMS

Now --- hosts currently down.

September 2003

  • 3003-09-25 (Thursday) --- on-campus network problems caused by a packet flood from 18:00-20:30; network outage in the library from 20:30-8:00 (Fri); on-going network outage in the lecture center.
  • 2003-09-23 (Tuesday) --- off-campus network outage between 11:50-12:10 due to weather-induced interference with a radio tower.
  • 2003-09-17 (Wednesday) --- off-campus network outage between 00:40-00:50 due to maintenance by our upstream network provider.
  • 2003-09-11 (Thursday) --- network outage from 07:00-08:30 caused by the failure of the internal router/firewall.
  • 2003-09-01 (Monday) --- brief on-campus network outage around 17:00 to replace fiber jumpers in the machine room, somewhat longer network outage in the classroom buildings.

August 2003

  • 2003-08-29 (Friday) --- off-campus network difficulties due to maintenance by our upstream network provider on one of our four T1s from 14:20-14:35.
  • 2003-08-25 (Monday) --- off-campus network difficulties due to maintenance by our upstream network provider on one of our four T1s from 4:50-6:50.
  • 2003-08-24 (Sunday) --- complete off-campus network outages between 01:05-01:15 and ouatage of one of the T1s from 01:05-3:05 due to routine maintenance performed by upstream network provider.
  • 2003-08-22 (Friday) --- off-campus network difficulties due to the failure of one of our four T1s from 16:20 to midnight.
  • 2003-08-15 (Friday) --- brief email outage from 10:45-10:55 most likely caused by temperature-related problems.

July 2003

  • 2003-07-23 (Wednesday) --- scheduled marathon (email) outage from 17:30-18:30 for attempted hardware upgrades. Also, there were brief web proxy outages between 18:30-19:30 for hard drive partition changes.
  • 2003-07-22 (Tuesday) --- scheduled minerva (web, dialup, shell) outage from 22:30-midnight while new hard drives were installed. Also, there was an email outage between 17:00 and 20:00 due to a firewall misconfiguration.
  • 2003-07-21 (Monday) --- brief scheduled network outage (18:40-18:50) for router/firewall upgrades. Dialup (PPP) services were also unavailable.
  • 2003-07-16 (Wednesday) --- athena (web, print) downtime from 17:30-18:30 due to hardware upgrades.

June 2003

  • 2003-06-10 (Tuesday) --- unexpected minerva (dialup, shell) downtime beginning in the early morning and lasting until about 16:30. Webpages were unavailable from 9:30-16:30.

May 2003

  • No outages to report!!!

April 2003

  • 2003-04-13 (Sunday) --- scheduled minerva user account downtime from 12:00-22:00 for hard drive maintenance, with minimal interruptions to other services.

March 2003

  • 2003-03-30 (Sunday) --- off-campus network outage on all four T1s from 19:00-19:40 to fix fiber problems from earlier in the morning.
  • 2003-03-13 (Thursday) --- off-campus network outage on all four of our T1s from 4:50-5:50.
  • 2003-03-12 (Wednesday) --- off-campus network outage on all four of our T1s from 3:20-5:10, cause confirmed to be be maintenance by our upstream network provider.
  • 2003-03-11 (Tuesday) --- off-campus network outage on all four of our T1s from 2:50-3:05.

February 2003

  • 2003-02-17 --- intermittent problems with web-based FileMaker applications and downtime from 16:00-19:00 for upgrades. (College offices closed due to snow.)

January 2003

  • 2003-01-25 (Saturday) --- intermittent lack of Internet connectivity from 1:00-10:00 due to the MS-SQL Slammer worm and the denial of services (DoS) it caused.
  • 2003-01-14 (Tuesday) --- momentary outages between 21:00-21:30 due to changes to the main switch.

December 2002

  • 2002-12-16 (Monday) --- off-campus network outage on one of our four T1s from 13:45-15:20.
  • 2002-12-13 (Friday) --- several web applications (including the grades submission program) were inaccessible Friday evening through Sunday afternoon as they were moved to a new server.

November 2002

  • 2002-11-12 (Tuesday) --- on-campus network outages from 17:45-19:25 and brief server outages between 19:05-19:25 due to a power outage.
  • 2002-11-05 (Tuesday) --- network outages from 12:30-12:40, 13:30-13:40, 19:00-19:10, and 23:20-23:50 due to router problems and a subsequent server replacement.
  • 2002-11-03 (Sunday) --- brief web proxy outage sometime between 00:00 and 00:30 for the same reason as the outage a few days ago.
  • 2002-11-02 (Saturday) --- network outage in the library as we upgrade network hardware for an hour or two beginning around 9:30.

October 2002

  • 2002-10-30 (Wed) --- web proxy outage from roughly 20:00 to 22:30 due to requests from a single machine filling up the log partition on the proxy server
  • 2002-10-21 (Monday) --- network outages at approximately 12:00 for 5 minutes and 14:50 for 15 minutes due to server crashes and hardware replacements.
  • 2002-10-13 (Sunday) --- brief network outages between 18:00 and 18:30 and between 21:00 and 21:30 to upgrade the main switch and firewall.

September 2002

  • 2002-09-19 (Thursday) --- brief email interruption between 15:15 and 15:20 due to an unexpected kernel crash.
  • 2002-09-16 (Monday) --- interruption of all network services from 04:15 to 07:25 due to a power outage.
  • 2002-09-04 (Wednesday) --- brief interruption of email services around 18:00 to modify the UPS setup.

August 2002

  • 2002-08-26 (Monday) --- very brief interruption of web services (webmail) around 19:00 due to hardware changes.
  • 2002-08-25 (Sunday) --- minerva (user accounts and dialup) downtime from 20:00-20:45 due to hard drive replacement.
  • 2002-08-25 (Sunday) --- network outage between 17:30 to 18:30 due to a power failure.
  • 2002-08-13 (Tuesday) --- email interruption from about 10:30-12:00 due to unforseen circumstances.
  • 2002-08-10 (Saturday) --- email services were interrupted from 21:30-23:45 while the mail server was upgraded to a system that will allow for better spam and virus filtering.
  • 2002-08-09 (Friday) --- minerva services (student webpages, dialup, and Windows printing) were interrupted from 2200-0040 as minerva was upgraded.
  • 2002-08-05 (Monday) --- total network outage from 21:30-03:30 due to an overloaded power circuit.
  • 2002-08-03 (Saturday) --- outage of certain web services between 21:00-23:30 due to upgrades.
  • 2002-08-02 (Friday) --- intermittent network outages between 18:00-20:00 as bandwidth capacity is increased by another T1 and we undergo an IP re-addressing. There may be some email delays for several days after the re-addressing is initiated, as well as the inability to access the webserver from off-campus.

July 2002

  • 2002-07-23 (Tuesday) --- network outage somewhere between 14:00-20:00 due to a power outage caused by an electrical storm.
  • 2002-07-13 (Wednesday) --- brief off-campus network outages between 01:00-05:00 for routine maintenance performed by upstream network provider.
  • 2002-07-09 (Tuesday) --- brief off-campus network outages between 01:00-05:00 for routine maintenance performed by upstream network provider.

June 2002

  • 2002-06-26 (Wednesday) --- brief off-campus network outages between 01:00-05:00 for routine maintenance performed by upstream network provider.
  • 2002-06-15 (Saturday) --- total network outage from roughly 12:00-20:30 due to a scheduled campus-wide power outage to perform upgrades to the electrical system.
  • 2002-06-06 (Thursday) --- total network outage from 00:45-02:15 due to a town-wide power outage.

May 2002

  • 2002-05-29 (Wednesday) --- total network outage from roughly 17:00-22:00 due to a scheduled campus-wide power outage to perform upgrades to the electrical system.
  • 2002-05-22 (Thursday) --- network outage in Blodgett, Student Union, Kendrick, Dolliver, and Crosby due to scheduled power outage until 12:30.
  • 2002-05-21 (Wednesday) --- intermittent outages to replace the main switch between 21:00-22:00.
  • 2002-05-21 (Wednesday) --- network outage in Owl's Nest, Kellogg, Foster, Orchards, and Gatehouse until 15:30 due to scheduled power outage.
  • 2002-05-02 (Thursday) --- network outage in Kendrick, Student Union, and Security from 21:20-21:30.

April 2002

  • 2002-04-29 (Monday) --- downtime of administrative backup server due to hard drive failure.
  • 2002-04-28 (Sunday) --- network outage in Kendrick, Student Union, and Security from 12:35-12:50.
  • 2002-04-24 (Wednesday) --- campus-wide network outage from 18:44-18:46 to perform memory upgrades to primary firewall.
  • 2002-04-22 (Monday) --- network outage in Crosby from 13:15-14:10.
  • 2002-04-19 (Friday) --- brief off-campus network outages between 13:40-14:55 caused by problems with upstream network provider.
  • 2002-04-12 (Friday) --- network outage in the mods, orchards, and Gatehouse from 13:50-14:10.
  • 2002-04-10 (Wednesday) --- network outage in Crosby from 18:25-18:50.
  • 2002-04-08 (Monday) --- network outage from 14:15-15:15 in some of the mods caused by a power outage.

March 2002

  • 2002-03-30 (Saturday) --- total network outage from roughly 12:00-18:00 due to a scheduled campus-wide power outage to perform upgrades to the electrical system.
  • 2002-03-21 (Thursday) --- off-campus downtime between 01:30-2:30 due to routine maintenance of our upstream provider.
  • 2002-03-18 (Monday) --- unexpected on-campus network outage from 07:35-08:05.
  • 2002-03-18 (Monday) --- unexpected network outage of Kendrick, the Student Union, and Security between 01:00-01:15.
  • 2002-03-15 (Friday) --- brief network downtime between 18:30-19:00 to perform hardware upgrades to the firewall.
  • 2002-03-14 (Thursday) --- unexpected network outage of Pibley and the Mansfield Houses between 20:50-21:40.
  • 2002-03-08 (Friday) --- unexpected network outage of the College Center offices between 13:20-13:45.
  • 2002-03-02 (Saturday) --- network failure caused by a bad switch port from 17:20-19:50.
  • 2002-03-01 (Friday) --- brief intermittent outages between 18:30 and 20:00 as we upgraded the main switch, replaced a UPS, and performed kernel upgrades on all servers.